If you shop at Amazon.com (for anything), use this link to support FordTaurus.net!

Personally installing ACM or finding someone to do it

Post Reply
rgccvfd
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:21 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Taurus Limited

Personally installing ACM or finding someone to do it

Post by rgccvfd » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:29 pm

Our radio stopped working in July last year. We took our 2013 Taurus to the dealership and they quoted us $800 to replace the ACM but they weren't 100% sure that would fix it. I'm not willing to spend $800 on something they aren't sure about. I want to find the part and try it myself if I could get some guidance. Is there a youtube video or some other help? Also, where do we find the part? I looked on car-part.com but that part isn't listed. Was hoping to find a salvage Taurus to get one off of. Any information anyone could give would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Ginny


mmsstar
Regular Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:48 am
Location: CLeveland Ohio Area
Vehicle: 2011 Flex SE

Re: Personally installing ACM or finding someone to do it

Post by mmsstar » Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:26 pm

ACM or audio control module = radio if that helps. Yes there is a YouTube video, search 2013 Taurus radio removal.

rgccvfd
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:21 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Taurus Limited

Re: Personally installing ACM or finding someone to do it

Post by rgccvfd » Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:45 pm

Thanks. I looked and there are similar models. So do I need to remove it to get a part # before ordering one?

mmsstar
Regular Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:48 am
Location: CLeveland Ohio Area
Vehicle: 2011 Flex SE

Re: Personally installing ACM or finding someone to do it

Post by mmsstar » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:30 pm

Probably the best way.

rgccvfd
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:21 pm
Vehicle: 2013 Taurus Limited

Re: Personally installing ACM or finding someone to do it

Post by rgccvfd » Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:51 pm

So we took it to the dealership we bought from. Now they are telling us it is the Front Display Interface Module and want to replace the backup camera as well to the tune of $1500. From what I've read this doesn't sound right to me. What do you all think? I haven't found a replacement online.

Post Reply